The second half of life..

By twigs

As is usual for me, packing the van takes time as I seem to be sooo easily side-tracked!  J came round to check out the feeding details for LB, I pootled and packed and by mid afternoon headed off.  Not too far tonight - just to Lyell to a pleasant wee campground in the middle of nowhere, but a place that I've stayed at before.  The difference today is there are heaps of people.......and sandflies!!!  I wonder whether there's more tourist traffic over this way given that the Kaikoura route is closed to through traffic?  There was surprisingly little traffic on the road - at least, heading in the same direction as me.   Rather more heading towards Nelson.

Today would have been mum's birthday - today is mum's birthday - today will always be mum's birthday.  Have thought about her heaps today.  I miss her so much, though I know she'd be telling me to just get on with things, and I know she's in her happy place with Pooh.  Easier said than done, though I am slowly getting there.  That's one of the reasons I was urging myself to head away in the van, to say that I am moving forward.  When I saw this patch of daisies at the camp site, I had to smile - mum would refer to the time when she wouldn't be around as her 'pushing up the daisies'.  I've parked alongside them - we'll keep each other company tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.