Remembering John O'Donohue

Dear Diary,

John and I carried on a year-long email correspondence and I was finally able to meet him in person in July of 2007.  He graciously signed my copy of Anam Cara.  We talked about contemplative photography and he was very interested in the idea.  Along with my cousin Rhonda, we hoped to meet up again in Massachusetts in February of 2008 when he came to the Kripalu Center to give a talk.  It was not to be.  He passed away in his sleep 3 days after his 52nd birthday.

John introduced me to the Burren in western Ireland and to the town of Ballyvaughan.  I've been back three times and it is my favorite landscape in Ireland.  John grew up among the hills of this lovely place and my favorite view is from Corkscrew Hill, I've added it as an extra.  I always stay at what I call "John's House" because it was where he would hold his yearly spiritual retreats.  It feels like a second home to me.

 Last year was a year of partings for both myself and some of my friends and I am reminded of a quote from Anam Cara:  We do not need to grieve for the dead. Why should we grieve for them They are now in a place where there is no more shadow, darkness, loneliness, isolation, or pain. They are home.  I know that they are all home now and it gives me such peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.