The Moment of Transformation

Dear Diary,

Yesterday started out frozen but as the day progressed the temperatures began to rise.  I tried to catch that brief moment of transformation on the branches of Auntie's tree, when the frozen gave way to the melting.  The drops were just starting but the little twigs were still wrapped in a thin coating of ice.

I love these threshold moments, when you can see two ways of being at the same time.  A long time ago, right after I bought this house, I was sitting on the front stoop in the sun.  I saw, from the west, rain approaching and then the rain started...but for a brief time it was raining on the other side of the road and I was still in the sun.  It lasted only seconds but it was such an amazing experience.

I learned yesterday that Sister Frances of the Sabbathday Shaker community passed away on Monday at the age of 89.  I knew Sister Frances and last year when I went to help with the spring cleanup I was able to sit and have lunch with her.  A wonderful and gentle soul.  My post yesterday with the quote from John O'Donohue seems almost prophetic now.  Sister Frances has gone home, may she rest in eternal peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.