White-Tailed Deer at Millbrook Marsh

It was my first morning back to work in the new year, and I wanted just fifteen minutes for myself before my official responsibilities for helping to save the world kicked back in.

It was drizzling, but my timing was good: the rain stopped for me for my fifteen minutes at misty-wet Millbrook. I took an umbrella, but in the end, I didn't need it.

As I approached the boardwalk, I saw the flicker of two white tails, which quickly disappeared. Darn it, I'd missed them. I somehow had a feeling - even before I got there - that Millbrook's white-tailed deer might be waiting.

But when I rounded the next turn in the boardwalk, there they stood: two white-tails against the golden grasses of Millbrook. Lucky me, I got a few photos before I continued on my merry way.

The boardwalk was wet and slick, but not icy. A kingfisher hooted and hollered overhead. Water droplets glistened on every branch and twig. Mist rose over Mount Nittany in the distance.

I made my quick visit, I fed my soul with beauty and peace, and on the return trip, I got my camera ready once again. Would they still be there?

Yes, but this time just ONE of them was still there, bidding me good day. "Now get going, girl; there's important work to be done; go help save the world . . . "

I've seen these deer several times before at Millbrook, so I'll include some links to a few prior visits with them:
Family of White-Tailed Deer
My First Meeting of the Day
Morning Encounter at Misty Millbrook
An Eastern Screech-Owl Takes Refuge from the Rain (deer family photo is in the extras)
The Secret

Gee, it almost seems like I've been following them around! :-) The soundtrack: the Bangles, Following.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.