A Tiny Tiger's Christmas Dream Comes True

It was first thing in the morning and I was getting ready for work. "He wants to go along to work with you today," my husband said firmly, and he placed the Tiny Tiger on the kitchen table by my computer.

You've met the Tiny Tiger once or twice before. His given name is Antonio. But lately we've been calling him by a new nickname: Point-Five. We weighed him one day and found out he weighs just a half of an ounce.

Thus the term: Point-Five. He thinks it's a great name, full of mystery and strength. In his heart of hearts, he is a hero. The name makes him feel like a spy, perhaps like Agent Double-Oh-Seven. Only: Point-Five!

And so I carefully tucked Point-Five in my daysack, and I headed off to work. But soon I heard a tiny whisper. He'd heard about the Arboretum. (Gee, I wonder who told him!) He'd heard it had a Christmas tree. More than one! Could we go visit? (It turns out that Point-Five is a bad influence . . . )

So I swung by the Arboretum, and we went to see the Christmas lights and decorations. He rode the bunnies, said hello to the snake, visited the trees. Miracle of miracles, the Glass House doors were unlocked in the children's garden, and the tree was brightly lit. Inside we went!

There were many things to see and do. Point-Five rode on the heron stored there. In summer months it guards the entrance to Childhood's Gate. The bird was very beaky, but polite.

Point-Five hung out with the Crittergators in the Christmas village scenes. He sniffed the sweet smell of pine. He admired the fancy lights. And then there was the tree.

The Christmas tree is decorated with hand-made ornaments, and Point-Five took a special interest in the dried orange slices. "Look, they're orange, like me!" And they smelled good too!

And so I placed the Tiny Tiger by the orange slices for this photo. There he is, in the very middle of the tree, surrounded by fancy decorations and sparkling lights and the scent of pine. His Christmas dream has come true!

The soundtrack: A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes, from Cinderella.

Further adventures of Point-Five, the Tiny Tiger:
The Tiny Tiger Recovery Ward
My Home Away from Home (you may see him to the right of my tent; a larger view of the patriotic tiger may be viewed in the extras)
Tiny Tiger, Ready for Take-Off

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.