Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

New day

Another very frosty start, but knowing it was going to be I got out early and deserted the river for the hills.  I was actually going to visit my friends the Exmoor ponies, but they've been moved.  I could see them in the distance but then my attention was caught by the British White bullocks (yes, they've been moved too).  They were milling around the water trough waiting for someone to break the ice for them.  Did I?  No, I wasn't carrying a mallet.  Luckily there were a couple of guys fence mending so I had a word and left it to them to use their muscles and crowbars.

Goodness, though, it was cold (well, for the south of England).  I was well wrapped up but all the same my fingers and cheekbones nearly dropped off!

Possibly there's some connection with that experience and the fact I got home and made a lush fish pie for supper.  Mmm!  And the only other thing I did today was see my lovely old gent and hear about the New Year's Eve country music event he went to.  Elderly, blind and wheelchair-bound and he didn't get home and in bed until 20 to 2!!

Enjoy your evening, peeps - and a huge thank you for being so kind to my robin yesterday  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.