Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Bright-eye - WildWed40

As soon as I saw this little fella I knew he'd have to be my friend for the day.

My sis, who lives a couple of miles south of Winchester, has been laid low with a head cold, so I've been out to see her, clutching meds.  We had a lovely gossip and then, as planned, I walked most of the way back along the river.  That's where I found the robin.  He was in a bush very close to me and let me take quite a few pics.  I actually felt rather guilty because although he could just have been seeing me off his patch I got the feeling he was asking to be fed.  Recently I've taken to carrying a small bag of meal worms in my pocket, like a batty old woman BAW.  This time I didn't have them on me  :(

Looking at his feet here it's interesting that he has such a long middle toe.  His back claw (thumb - can you have a thumb on your feet?) is also long, which makes sense.  But the middle claw - I suppose that's used for grubbing up insects.  How fascinating.

Many thanks to Cailleach for hosting WildWed.  And thanks so much to all of you for putting my rose and weasel on page one of the pops.

Okay, that's me.  Have a good evening, folks  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.