It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Pundit!

What a 1st day back at work.

I travelled over to the water-sport centre at Pinkston in Glasgow to meet up with a kayak coach. I’ve got quite a few canoe and kayak coaches on our MSc. programme and I thought it was important to see what they do.

It was much colder towards Glasgow and the water was frozen at the centre… the ice wasn’t that thick and it made an amazing noise when one of the athletes made a wave with his paddle. Within a few minutes, there were about 10 kayaks on the water and all the ice was cracked.
I spent the rest of the morning learning about the sport, ultra-technical, very dynamic and it takes a lot of fitness too. I was really interested in how Steve coached here and I learnt loads that I can apply to my own coaching too. He got his own back and asked me to deliver a wee classroom session on the importance of warm-up.

I spent another hour in the afternoon taking photos. It was a great way to get to know the sport as I was trying to predict the lines the paddlers would follow. They must have been (nearly) freezing in water that was only just above zero!


Then I walked across the city to the BBC for a meeting with the head of sport to talk about football coaching… Eek…I have a face for radio, so I’m hoping I don’t end up on TV as a pundit! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.