Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Feeding the birds

This morning I realised that I really needed to get my accounts sorted - as usual I've left it until the last minute, but fortunately our accountant is very understanding...

By the afternoon I'd had enough of the paperwork, so Pete and I decided to brave a walk down to the river, recording any plants we found in flower for the BSBI's annual New Year Plant Hunt. The frosts we've experienced during November and December have had a significant effect, and there were far fewer species in flower than in January 2016, but we finally reached a moderately respectable total of 26.

We were at the Rowing Lake in time for sunset, and were pleased to see lots of families and dog-walkers enjoying the fresh air, making the most of a fine day after the horrendous rain of New Year's day. This family had gathered a very large and attentive audience of birds! As we headed home the crescent moon and Venus made a beautiful sight in the dusky blue sky (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.