Dogs Might Fly

My sister, Ollie dog and I had an absolutely lovely walk along the sea wall at Burnham-on-Crouch this afternoon. It was was sunny, calm and golden and though frosty underfoot in places, not cold. Ollie dog really loved it, which pleased me no end as he is recovering from having his nose put out of joint by the fact that my niece's rumbustious pup spent Christmas day with them.

We saw lots of nice birds including a short-eared owl which winged its way across the river, curlews and other waders, swans in flight, a kestrel and a flock of shelduck making linear patters with their wakes as the water was so calm and blue.

We met a young woman, Natalia Spencer, who had walked all the way from Bradwell. She described it as a wild walk. There's nothing between Bradwell and Burnham and she was desperate for a cup of coffee, or a drink of any sort. She is walking around the coastline of Britain in memory of her five-year-old daughter Elizabeth who died from a rare infection and to raise money for the Wallace and Gromit Grand Appeal, a charity that will help other critically ill children.

I had today's poem Requiem: The Soldier by Humbert Wolfe ringing in my ears. Natalia is soldiering along without her beloved daughter and marching in her memory. I have added a picture of beautiful Natalia to extras. The word gold is used three times in the poem. I love the way today's golden light is catching Natalia's face.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.