Beware Birdies!

It's #NationalBirdDay and Fat Face is on the prowl. I sent him packing.

While I was on the phone I saw three cock pheasants land together in a tree over the road. I don't think I've ever seen a pheasant perched in a tree, let alone three. I was concerned that they would fly down and get run over but luckily they took off over the fields. I've added the last to leave to extras. 

I was interested to read in Wonderland that brown rats, often seen under bird feeders, have only been here for about 300 years. It is thought that they came on trading ships from Russia. They have displaced an earlier invader, the black or ships rat which only survives in remote islands off the north-west coast of Scotland. Rats can easily run up mooring lines. We were advised to thread plastic water bottles on our lines when we moored at an isolated anchorage overnight in Greece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.