An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A Red Rose for Sara...

Backblip

During the festivities on Christmas Day I received a message that shook me to my core.  A friend had passed away.

We had just at down to dinner when my phone buzzed and there it was.  A message to say Sara had died at 1.20pm, from brain cancer.   I didn't even know she was ill.  None of us did, well apart from her husband, sons and close family.   She was diagnosed very recently, it was incurable and it took her swiftly.  I put my phone away and carried on as though nothing had happened.  I had to, otherwise I would not have been able to keep myself together, and after all Alan and David had been through, I had to make sure Christmas day was as perfect as it could be.

But here's the rub, although Sara and I had been friends for just shy of 10 years and even though we talked regularly, shared good times, bad times, laughter and tears, we never actually met in real life.  She was one of the many friends I have made online, who are as dear to me and valued as much as the friends I see on a regular basis.

I know this is said often when people pass away but she truly was one of a kind.   The gap she leaves is massive, and for her husband and three sons, unifillable.   My heart breaks for them.

It was her funeral today and I so wanted to be there but for many reasons it was impossible.   One of her friends organised 100 red roses and invited everyone who couldn't attend to send a message that she would write on a tag and attach it to a rose.  I cried buckets writing my message and when reading all the other messages that came flooding in.  

The sign of a good and worthy life is nothing to do with how much money you earned or how accomplished you were at your chosen field, but at how many lives you touched with your kindness, humour and love.  And she touched countless lives.

David has been so lovely to me since I told him but I don't think he really understands how much someone you haven't actually met can mean to you.   But I know you lot will understand.

Goodbye Sara, thank you x  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.