Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

An Old Friend

I haven't seen any of my friends or colleagues from Maryland since I moved to Arizona almost ten years ago.  Donna and her husband Chuck came to the Tucson area to visit her mom.  I met them for lunch.

Donna was the music teacher during the ten years I worked at Dynard Elementary School.  I lived vicariously through her.  I started out in college as a music education major.  Even though I had switched to elementary education, I still got my minor in music. Our personalities just clicked.

We always had fun together.  Her music class was scheduled to last 50 minutes. Often, I would take my break for the first thirty then go into her classroom with my kids and  join them for the rest of class.  I would sing and bop and play instruments with them. I loved it and Donna sure didn't seem to mind.

She even indulged me one time.  The school's winter program was themed Christmas Around the World.  My favorite song is Feliz Navidad.  So as soon as the "country" sign-up sheet was posted, I literally ran to the cafeteria and signed up for Mexico.  I then went and begged Donna to teach my class that song.  She harassed me a little about it because she really didn't feel like having to learn the correct Spanish pronunciations.  But she caved with a laugh.

I think between the two of us, a lot of fourth graders really enjoyed their music class experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.