Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Four Day Marathon

Well, it was the final of four consecutive days in the same room at my offices receiving consultancy on the work needed to migrate one of our computer systems to a new application.  Too much discussion on SQL servers and various table, record and field links for a relational database.  Coding work already underway so that the new application can take the data being exported from the old system and make sense in the new.  A realisation that what we had bought in terms of support from the supplier was going to be dwarfed by our own staff resources needed to make it a success.  

By the end of the day we agreed to reconvene on the Monday to agree what  would be needed to achieve the next stage in the project.  In all of my years at this employer, I have rarely faced such a daunting task.  Teamwork will be paramount and I am fortunate to have colleagues that will knuckle down and make it happen.  As long as we are allowed the time and resources to complete the task.

I decided to capture an image of the room to remind me of the start of the project.  Hopefully I will be able to share another, when we successfully complete the roll out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.