Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Green man

On 7th Dec I blipped one of the misericords in Winchester Cathedral and commented that I might do more of them on damp grey days.  Today being such I went back for a second pop.  This is one of a pair of 'green men' carved on either side of  a misericord.  The central carving is in Extras (it's a lovely piece of work, but rather the same as the first one I put in my journal).

I also found out more about them.  Sadly they are not all accessible in term time, but will be for a week during Easter.  And there is a booklet that tells you all about them, but they've run out.  Not an entirely successful day, but I hope you enjoy this one.

More about the Green Man if you're interested, also info here on misericords.

Have a good one  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.