a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A stack of rolls

This is both an exercise in baking and an exercise in photography.  

Photography:  this is my first ever focus stack.  I've used 5 images here to be able to get the image sharp from front to back.  I've merged them using Affinity Photo which can now deal with focus stacking.  It has been an interesting experience and I've learnt quite a bit from this process.  I am not sure if I will be able to do this with macro photography, but it certainly looks as though it is going to be worth trying.

Baking:  my brother-in-law and sister bought me the River Cottage baking book for my birthday.  I've been baking bread for about 9 months now, but the few changes that Hugh Fernley-Wittingstall's book suggest to the process have made all the difference.  My seeded bread rolls are now a pleasure to eat and considerably less stressful to make.  I think that I am really starting to get there with my basic bread making now.  I am looking forward to the challenges ahead now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.