a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Mugshot

Flower Friday: Mugshot

A couple of years ago, on Cathy's birthday, Jess gave her Mum a mug which features Van Gogh's Irises.  It is one of Cathy's favourite paintings (although it might have to make room for one or two Monets if we somehow suddenly were to come into possession of some large canvasses featuring water lillies(!)).  

Today's rather poor attempt at a Flower Friday blip, (which is what you have to do when you have no flowers available to you), nicely demonstrates the pointillism inherent in the printing process.  When you see the thumbnail things look as one would expect but closer up with a macro lens the tiny dots start to resolve.  I'm not sure if I could have resolved those dots back when I was young with much better close up vision.  But now, even with my reading glasses, I cannot see them without a macro lens.

Why the Van Gogh?  Well, not because I want  to make an issue of yesterday's birthday, (which seemed to go well); but because today we booked a little trip to Amsterdam, which will be something to look forward to over the coming weeks.  I've been before with my brother Brendan, back when he was working on upgrading Schipol's air traffic control system.  But Cathy has never been, and with the Van Gogh museum (amongst many other things) its somewhere  she would very much like to visit.

Definitely something to look forward to as the winter months drag on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.