a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Eyesore

The Seamen's Church and Institute on Prince Street in Bristol, is one of those eyesores that the locals stopped noticing years ago.  Every town has them.  

In this case the building, which dates back to 1880, was hailed in Arrowsmith's Dictionary of Bristol just four years later as "in the Venetian style of architecture.  The decorations and interior arrangements are exceedingly chaste, so much so that it is considered one of the prettiest of its kind in England."

I'm not too sure about that reference to Venetian Architecture myself.  As you can see, its pretty derelict now, and has been boarded up and chained off for many years.  I've never been inside, so I have no idea whether it is quite as chaste as it was 130 years ago, I rather suspect not.  Hopefully some one will get around to doing something with it useful sometime soon.

I'm putting this shot in for this week's Derelict Sunday challenge being run by Maisiebeth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.