GracieG

By GracieG

Binham Priory

It was a very gloomy overcast day today, so not great for photos outdoors.  While M was watching the Liverpool/Plymouth FA Cup match on the TV, B and I drove over to Binham Priory.
This Benedictine priory was founded in the late 11th Century.  The church took 150 years to build, mostly from Norfolk flint.  The church is surrounded by the priory ruins, which were largely destroyed in 1539.  The church itself is still used today, and although rather plain inside there are some wonderful pews with carved ‘poppyheads’ at the ends, this term comes from the French ‘poupee’ or doll and each depicts a different figure, the one in the photo is (I think) an eagle.
I decided not to waste an extra on an outside shot, as the light was so poor, but I’m sure we’ll revisit it again hopefully in more favourable light conditions.

A huge thank you to all of you who left comments, stars and hearts on my previous blip https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2263776722228874719
It reached page one of popular...that's a first for me, so I'm delighted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.