Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Another Foxy Day

Yesterday a Fox Sparrow, today a red fox.  Seems like a trend, doesn't it?  This beautiful animal is easily recognizable most of the world over as a red fox (Vulpes vulpes).  It is abundant throughout most of the Northern Hemisphere and, in most places, is a species of "least concern" largely due to it's ability to be highly adaptable.  In Australia, where it was introduced, it is considered a highly invasive species.  There are 45 sub-species of Red Fox.  


I believe this is a male; although it is impossible to tell with anything other than a close inspection (which they don't like, and isn't advised!)  However, this animal is fairly large which would be consistent with it being a male.  It is curious to me that it has been out during the day both yesterday and today as foxes are nocturnal hunters; however, this is the breeding season for the species, so perhaps he's defending his territory or looking for a mate.  Last spring we had a pair of red fox denned in the woods behind our house where they started a litter of 9 kits, so this is likely the male of that pair.


Anyway, enough rambling and speculation!  This morning when he ran along the edge of our woods, I had my camera sitting on the table where I was able to snatch it and fire four shots through the kitchen window.  This is the best of the lot and required only very minimal adjustments in Lightroom.


Temps have been frigid all day, made even more hellish by gusty winds - all of which makes it very unpleasant to be outside.  So, other than a quick trip to the store and a dash out to have lunch, Hubs and I are staying close to home, fire blazing.  I've been out twice to top off the bird food and water - Bistro is packed today.


Lots of things happening in our world at the moment, so forgive me if I am not as good about commenting as I should be.  More to come...


xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.