Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Bird #6

Since the snowfall on Saturday, I've had several of these small sparrows in the yard.  They are only here in the winter, leaving early in the spring for their breeding grounds in northern Canada and Alaska.  They have a particular fondness for cracked corn but also seem to enjoy sunflower seeds and even some occasional thistle.  Thought I'd get a shot of one for my photographic yard bird list now since they usually don't stick around very long after a snow starts to melt.  Of course, with the temps still hovering in the low 20's (F), there isn't much danger of snow melt at the moment.  

Tree sparrows are among the smaller of our native sparrows and are sometimes confused with the Chipping Sparrow because both species are small and have a jaunty little rusty cap.  However, the tree sparrow can be distinguished by its rusty eye-line, the bi-colored beak and the spot on its breast.  

Saturday's Fox Sparrow and yesterday's red fox were both seen in the yard today, much to my delight.  In fact, the fox trotted along the edge of the woods while I was outside filling the feeders so I was able to get off several good shots without having to contend with the kitchen window.  My favorite is posted HERE on Flickr.  I know that not everyone shares my enthusiasm for fox sightings, but since I don't have any livestock to worry about, I am free to enjoy the sheer beauty of them.  

I think our current frigid spell should break in the next day or two and may even warm up to a balmy 45 F or so.  Did I mention that I am REALLY looking forward to heading to Arizona next week???

Happy Monday, people.

xo
Debbi

PS:  And if you want to see a really cool Bald Eagle Nest Cam, check this out!.  It looks like M15 and Harriet have one egg that is not viable, but the hatched chick looks very healthy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.