Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hunting for Snipe...

Today the temps were over the freezing mark, so I decided to go out in search of ducks...and snipe.  I found both, but really hit the jackpot with five Wilson's Snipe (sometimes called Common Snipe).  They tend to be a little skittish so I didn't try to approach very closely, instead relying on a heavy crop.  So, not a super shot, but good enough for today.  Although they are considered rarities at this time of year here, there are always a few that overwinter at a nearby fish hatchery every winter.  

At the same hatchery, I found over a dozen little Green-winged teal , a favorite duck and a half dozen or so Killdeer.  So all in all, a good day.

Back home for lunch and now off to the doctor because I seem to have a UTI - ugh!  

Later!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.