Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snowy # 7 - the Purple Finch

I went out in search of water fowl today, but wasn't able to find any open water on any of the nearby lakes - everything frozen solid.  I did spot a few ice fishermen ... a sport I truly don't understand.  Sitting out in the bitter cold on an iced over lake, dangling a bit of bait in the water...what kind of sense does that make???

But I digress.  When I got home, a wintery mix of precipitation had started and the feeders were all mobbed.  I was searching the masses of birds, hoping to see something unusual and was rewarded with one handsome male Purple Finch!  First one I've seen this year, although I saw a couple of males in December.  Some years we get them in fairly good numbers, but so far, it's a light year in our area.  They look a lot like a House Finch at first glance but then you notice the blockier build and the color, which is more of a raspberry than the red of the house finch.  Anyway, definitely worth a blip, especially since I was able to get it when the wintery-mix had turned over to snow.

I also had a very odd looking brown-headed cowbird in with a larger flock - his head is a very coppery color, much brighter and lighter than usual.  At first, I thought I might have some sort of vagrant species, but it seems that he is just an odd color morph of a very common bird.  Almost blipped him, but I know I'll see more cowbirds whereas I'm not sure about the purple finches.

I think we may finally get above freezing tomorrow!  It would be nice if some of the snow melted.  We don't really have more than 5 or 6 inches accumulated, but it's starting to get very tiring looking out at white.  

I'm happy to say that the chicken stew in the pressure cooker yesterday turned out great!  I'm quickly becoming quite a fan of this kitchen appliance.  

Happy Monday...

xo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.