Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mourning Dove - Yard Bird #6

Well, I figure I might as well continue building my Yardbird 2018 list - it's easy right now, and with the temperatures remaining frigid, easy is good.  That said, I spent enough time outside this afternoon for my toes to lose feeling and my battery to almost fully discharge.  

I chose this shot for today because it shows the beautiful tail feathers of the Mourning Dove.  In my mind, this is one of their best features.  I've broken quite a few photographic "rules" with this, but I like it.  And if you'd like to see a shot showing the front of the bird (and still showing the fancy tail), just click HERE.  My second fave shot of the day is one of the best photos I've ever taken of a black-capped chickadee, click HERE.

Had a great chat with my parents this morning.  And in just one week, I'll be able to hug them both in person (not to mention being able to thaw out a bit)!  Counting down.

MIL is here - she and Hubs are playing a rousing card game of War and I am pretty sure they are both cheating.  At the very least, there is a lot of trash-talk going on.  

I'm using my new instant-pot pressure cooker to make a chicken stew for dinner.  Fingers crossed it works out, otherwise we'll be ordering pizza!  

Thank you for all the hearts and stars on my various birds this week.  Most of you know that birds are very high on my list of favorite things to photograph, so your positive feedback is very much appreciated.  

Cheers.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.