The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Achnaba Church/The Kirk

We are staying local today. Thoughts of going to Oban were abandoned once I realised it's Saturday, and a bank holiday weekend. It turns out that the road was closed anyway, following a fatal accident. Sadly, they are common on that road; people do drive too fast, even though it's known as an accident blackspot. I'm sure all of us who grew up round here can think of at least one childhood friend who has since been wiped out in an accident. Mine was David Mac : we used to chuck our shoes into the hedge together when we were nine or ten. Believe me, it was hilarious at the time...

A visit to my sister's found the household a bit under the weather following a drinking session last night. Her son is going back to Uni tomorrow, and they had one or two tequila shots too many. We went down to the beach, but the sun had gone, and the path up to the top viewpoint on Ben Lora is closed, so that was that. Back to the House on the Bog.

I wasn't happy, though, with my endless shots of an ornament, and the beach views, so I nipped out to the beach here, on Loch Etive side, but the light was in my eyes. So, I visited my grandmother and aunt in the cemetery, which has recently been enlarged because folk keep on dying, and blipped the kirk instead. It's not my mother's church, but it would be handy if it was, for it is next to her house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.