Planning Ahead

Dear Diary,

I have always been a planner.  As a teacher, you more or less have to be a good one or things go very awry.  Since I've retired I have been less so but I do like to have things to look forward to.  This door leads to my cellar and I used chalk board paint to create a place to write down things that will be coming up, like my trip out to Minnesota the end of March to visit Elaine and Brad.  (Yes, you would think I would travel to more sunny  and warm climates but I do so want to visit them.)

In the near term there is the Woman's March in Boston on January 21st.  My cousin Rhonda is going to the march in Washington, DC but that is a bit beyond me so it is off to Boston I will go if the weather co-operates that is and I can get there.  I want to be part of the protests over the alarming trends we are seeing taking shape in this country.  There will be marches in solidarity all over the world. 


 The last such thing I was a part of was the Disarmament March in New York City back on June 12, 1982.  There, a million people gathered in Central Park.  It was an awesome thing to be part of.  Standing up for what is right and just is something Americans have always done.  It is how we became a country in the first place.  So, on January 21st I will stand with tens of thousands of other men and women to say we will not sit idly by and let our country's principles of fair play and justice for all be dismantled.  We have come too far and we will not allow those in power to take away all we have accomplished. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.