A little squirrel time...

Dear Diary,

The temperature reached the upper 30'sF yesterday.  It felt positively balmy.  The ice formations on the front of the house melted quite a bit and the ice lizard disappeared completely.  The sun felt so warm that it was heavenly.  Of course, the birds and squirrels still needed feeding so I took some time to watch Gaylord and his friends do their thing.

It is supposed to be even warmer today and in the upper 40'sF tomorrow when the rain comes in.  I guess we are officially in our annual January thaw now.  It comes every year mid-January and I remember how my second husband, Scott, who was a ski racer, dreaded it.  It turns the snow to "mashed potatoes" he would say.

As long as the rain tomorrow stays rain it will be fine.  I am going to the car wash today to get the salt off the car.  It is such a mess but its been so cold I hadn't dared do it.  The old saying is "to make hay while the sun shines."  I say, "wash the car when it is above freezing"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.