A trip to the car wash...

Dear Diary,

The nearest car wash is almost 30 miles away so when I say I'm going to the car wash it means I pack a lunch, well, maybe not a lunch but it is a good chunk of time out of the day.  Of course, it is 8 miles to buy a loaf of bread for me, nothing is close by where I live.  It seemed as if everyone else had the same idea so it was a 40 minute wait in line before I could get my seriously dirty car into the wash.


I've never done a car wash photograph so I thought I would try.  There were lots of abstract possibilities but I like this one best.  Didn't I say just the other day that there is always creative possibilities no matter where you find yourself? 


On the way home I stopped to photograph a road sign. (extra)  For 15 years I commuted 3 hours on the weekends so I could spend time in my little farmhouse.  I couldn't wait until I saw this sign, "Freedom, next right".  (That's the town of Freedom, New Hampshire)  It meant I was only a half an hour from home.  It also had a whole lot of symbolic meaning for me as well.  Now, I don't have to make that 3 hour commute to return to Massachusetts to teach each week, I just have to drive 60 miles round trip to the car wash!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.