Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Friendly Robin

We had a 10.30am appointment to take Mrs BB VW Golf to the garage in Newport under the great VW emissions scandal, for them to put it right.

Not far away is Newport Wetlands, an RSPB nature park set up to encourage birds to the area. It's a lovely walk around their building which encompasses some of the coastal path. I parked my car (I followed her as they didn't have a courtesy car until March!) and as we were at the boot putting our boots on, Mrs BB jumped with fright. A very friendly Robin was about two feet away from us. We had a couple of loafs of bread and started feeding it. I had the wrong lens attached to my camera but it was there ages, so managed to put on a wider kens to grab a few photo's. It was thinking about taking a piece of bread from my hand being 12" away - almost by not quite! It didn't even fly away, but after 10 minutes playing it was us that left him to feed on the bread we'd left!

On collecting the car, VW gave Mrs BB a gift set comprising a VW pen (very nice), a VW keyring and an emergency battery pack for charging phones, iPads, etc.

On returning home I spent a couple of hours building a film camera that a son gave me as a Christmas present. Still not finished. The instructions are dreadful and there's tiny screws, springs and plastic parts like you've never seen before! 

We're off to friends tonight for a take-away meal. Catch you later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.