The second half of life..

By twigs

Moeraki Boulder

What a varied day!  Had intended getting up early and heading to the nugget Point lighthouse to capture a sunrise there.  Waking at 5.15 to the sound of light rain on the van roof though changed my mind and I nodded off.  A couple of hours later I awoke again, this time getting up and heading off to the lighthouse.  It was still a bit rainy but more challenging was the wind.......strong, very cold and gusty.  I figured the short walk from the car to the lighthouse would be brisk, and it was.  What I didn't figure on was the bitterness in the wind on the exposed headland at the lighhouse - it literally took my breath away.  Grabbed a few shots then turned and headed back along the track and that's when the weather gods really went to town (see extra).  It may be January and the middle of summer, but that didn't stop them hurtling razor sharp hailstones at me leaving me feeling I was walking through a razor storm.  Seriously??  Seriously!  Back to the van and a warming drive to Balclutha.  A chance then to complete a few domestics - fill up with diesel, fill the gas tank and buy some more diesel kms (Road User Charges).  It was whilst at the garage that I caught a comment from a local expressing his shock at the 5 degree temperature that was being reported.  I guess if the locals are surprised by the weather it must be unusual.

Hit the road afterwards, heading in the Moeraki direction.  A meandering journey, interspersed with thoughts and stops.  I chose to book into the Moeraki campground which was simple but simply perfect.  Showered.  Did some laundry.  Had dinner.  Mid-evening the time felt right to make a reccy visit to the Boulders and scope out the best spot for a sunrise-over-the-Boulders shot tomorrow morning.  Others were on the beach but, one by one, they left until I was alone, completely free to be in my element, experimenting and clicking.  Such a special time.  Back to the van and then I began to play with what I'd captured...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.