The perfume merchant

Had an extraordinary and exhilarating day in Nathdwara – went to the temple of the Krishna child which is about 350 years old and the most important one in the country according to many people who talked with me today.  Cameras and phones were prohibited so I left them with my shoes at the main entrance and joined the throng to go through security check. I was not allowed to enter – ha, I was in the men’s queue, so had to go back and join the women and shuffle forward with them. We were herded into an ante chamber and I slipped into a side one only to find I was the only person upright – all the other bodies were prostrating on the cold floor.  Then everyone surged forward to the main shrine and I could just see an image by climbing a stair at the rear.  Either side there were two priests in rather fetching pillbox hats who were waving their scarves over worshipper’s heads.  Then we were moved on into another chamber with another image and then out into the fresh air – a completely different entrance and no sign of my shoes or camera kiosk.  However they were still there when I eventually found the right place.  There were lots of men wearing shirts that crossed over the front and tied with tapes = apparently it was a temple uniform.   On the way, in the narrow streets I met up with the school teacher of a couple of days ago – riding his motorbike barefoot.  He was adamant I should visit the temple as he had just been there himself.  So many things to see and there are far too many photos but I haven’t the energy to cull.  Thank you to everyone who comments and gives awards – I am most grateful but too tired and short of wifi time to return the compliment.  If you have the energy and time here is my day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.