Trexler Game Preserve ....

Elk. 

Today was not our typical Friday the 13th!  It usually is not an unlucky day for us.  Today was not so much unlucky as it was frustrating and annoying!

I was up much earlier than usual as I was off with R to pick up his truck from the mechanic .... he was then going to go work and I was going to one of my favorite parks to look for foxes!  Not that I have ever seen foxes there, but I was optimistic!  

First thing that went wrong was the fact that it took us forever to get to the mechanic's garage as we hit EVERY red light from here to there!  Then when R started his truck he noticed that the volt meter for the battery was not reading very high, which means the battery wasn't being charged.  He was afraid to take the truck to work because the battery would probably be dead by the end of his work day.  So we left the truck there and I drove him to work .... our mechanic was not in the garage quite yet.   We left it that I would still go looking for foxes and he was going to call the mechanic to tell him what was going on with the truck. 

We weren't sure if the mechanic would be able to work on the truck and fix it quickly so I stayed nearby.  Well to make a long story short ... the mechanic said that the alternator is bad and needs to be replaced! Suffice to say R was not happy about that diagnosis as there was nothing wrong with it before.  

Since the truck wasn't going to be done today R told me to just go on home when I was ready to.  I would then have to pick him up after work. 

The day wasn't all bad as I spent the morning (while waiting to hear from R) driving through the Trexler Nature Preserve.  Because it was so early there weren't any other cars driving through so I was able to take me time.  One of the stops along the way was at the elks.  Sadly one of the female elk was shot and intentionally killed about a month ago.  This is a protected preserve with no hunting allowed so they quite surprise when one of them got shot.  They also have bison living at the Preserve.  

I was home by lunch and was able to get a few things done before going back to pick up R.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.