Golden Mushroom Mania!

There's a fungus among us!

One afternoon this past week, I stopped at the Berkey Creamery on campus and enjoyed a peppermint stick milkshake. I got the last one in the place.

As the guy dipped the ice cream into the cup to make my shake, he removed the sign. All out! I felt very lucky, as peppermint stick may be my favorite flavor, and they usually only have it certain times of year, around the winter holidays.

We needed milk at home, so I bought a quart to get us through till our next shopping trip. And they had some beautiful white button mushrooms, very reasonably priced ($2 a pound), so I bought one container.

I finally had a chance to sautee the mushrooms on this day, and they turned out even more beautiful (if that's possible) and golden. I included them in my cheesy breakfast omelet. Later in the day, I piled as many as I could on top of pizza.

How many ways can a girl eat mushrooms? We're about to find out! I only wish I had all of the ingredients to make fettuccine carbonara! MMmmMM!

The soundtrack: James Taylor, Golden Moments.


Also related:
The Great Mushroom Caper
The Great Mushroom Caper, Part 2: Cave Paintings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.