Motorcycles....

....on ice!
Tom asked if I'd like to go somewhere to look for a blip, and I said: "I guess" none too enthusiastically, as I just felt tired this morning. He drove downtown to McKinnley Marina (which sits on the edge of Lake Michigan), and when we parked we could hear motors racing, so walked over to see what was happening. There were about 6 or 7 guys out there riding their motorcycles on the ice. The long walkway that curves out into the Lake was open, so we went partway down to get the sun at a better angle & I got some really nice pictures! I actually like the first one in my extras better than the one above, but you can't really see the motorcycles & I thought everyone would be wondering what the heck they were doing! The second pic I put in the extras is just to show you the other side of the walkway--If I stood in the middle and looked to one side you'd see the racers on the ice & turning to the opposite side is a view of downtown, and you'll see that there's no ice on that side at all! The 3rd. picture is one taken a bit further out so you get a better idea of where they were racing--you can see birds standing on the ice, and in the distance are all the stalls for the boats in the summer. It was only 28 degrees, but was so comfortable being out because the sun was shining and there wasn't any wind. 
I wanted to get my blip in early enough that I can settle in to watch the Packers play beat the Cowboys today, & seeing as how this racer is wearing his Packers' Jersey, he gets the blip pick today!! Go Pack Go!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.