Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Where Did You Come From?

Hooded Orioles are only supposed to be in southern Arizona between March and October.  I haven't seen one since early August.  So where has this female been hiding?  I really do know what they look like but I couldn't believe it could be true.  So I scoured my books and bird apps trying to identify what I thought had  to be a different species.  I finally threw in the towel to accept it. The extra shows her yellow belly.  She sure doesn't look much like an oriole, huh?

The suet has cranberries in it so maybe it was the fruit that was attractive.  I'll have to stick an orange or two on top of the shepherd's hook to see if I can attract them through the winter.

I posted a pair of Acorn woodpeckers as yesterday's blip.  I think I may now be up-to-date.  Of course, it's tomorrow in the rest of the world already.  I hope to post earlier than I did tonight  (too many Sunday news shows and football watching today).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.