saying goodbye

This afternoon we said goodbye to a lovely lady called Dorothy. First with a service at St George's Church in Dumfries, where she had been a member, and then a cremation ceremony at Roucan Loch.

After the cremation, I went for a walk around the Loch. It's a peaceful site, with lots of wildlife and views across open countryside. As well as being a place of memorials for those who are cremated, there is also a woodland burial site. 

It's not easy for many people to talk about death and dying, and not many people discuss or arrange their funerals in advance, but it can be helpful to do so. Sarah has recently studied palliative care as part of her nursing course, and we have started to share ideas on the subject. Considering my own funeral, I don't have any definite views, thinking that since I will be dead by then, whatever feels best for whoever survives me is what I'd be happy to go with. But if I had to choose, it might be good to be buried somewhere where my relatives could have a nice walk and hear the birds singing. Wherever that might be.

Sarah sent me this yesterday and I have read it several times since then. Very wise words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.