Benner Cemetery in the Mist

There is a beautiful little cemetery surrounded by trees, in the middle of a sprawling, golden field, not more than a five-minutes' drive from where I work. It was raining and misty all day, and I managed a short visit during a relative break in the rain, as a treat for myself.

I parked my car in the parking lot near route I-99, crossed the road, and walked down a muddy lane along the edge of a field. From there, the path wound down through a little woods and emerged into an open field.

In the middle of the field to my right was a huge, shapely tree, with a hawk sitting right on the tippy-top. As I'm no expert on hawks, I can't tell you what kind, but I can tell you this: it made the place infinitely better by its presence.

And in the middle of the open field, to my left, was a cemetery - Benner Cemetery - surrounded by a wooden fence, a stone wall, and a copse of trees that looked like a row of very tall broccoli.

A set of stone steps allowed traverse across the cemetery wall. And so up over the wall and down among the graves I strolled. I daydreamed a little, and in my own way, paid honor to the faithful departed: I am here to visit you. You are not forgotten. Rest easy. Peace . . .

All around me was gentle rain and mist, and it was very serene there, exactly what I was seeking. Perhaps I love a good cemetery for the same reason I love a cold winter wind in my face: because it reminds me that I am awake, fully present in this moment, unconquered and alive.

The soundtrack: Bruce Springsteen, We Are Alive.

P.S. Here is a link to the only blip I've ever posted from this cemetery:
Grave Stone with No Name

P.P.S. Here is a link to a little bit more info about this special place, as well as several more pics (not mine).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.