WideAngle Wednsday - Perspective

This afternoon we went to see "The Play that Goes Wrong" at Newcastle Theatre Royal. It was fabulously funny - if you haven't seen it, and it comes to a theatre near you, it's certainly worth seeing. We booked rather at the last minute and could only get seats in the gallery (above the upper circle) but we actually got a good view from there.

I took my new camera with me to see how it performed for some night shots after the play, and I was delighted. This shot is handheld at 1/6th second, albeit it wide angle (13mm zoom setting), but the image stabilisation seems to have worked very well. The IS coped even more impressively in the extra, which was taken at the full range of the zoom (100mm - equivalent to 200mm for a full-frame camera), at 1/3 second, also handheld - I'm in awe at the technology! I'm very lucky that Santa was so good to me :-))

The Theatre Royal is a magnificent building, being one of only 9 Grade 1 listed theatre halls in England. It dates from 1837 but was last restored in 2012. I blipped part of the interior shortly after I started blipping, in 2014.

Many thanks to Hobbs who has taken on the mantle of Widwed for the next few weeks. Today's theme is "perspective" - it's interesting to see the distorting effect of the wideangle setting on the perspective on this photo of the theatre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.