Watching The Fog Roll Away

Today I woke up in San Francisco. They've had LOTS of rain and stormy weather for about 10 days but today was supposed to be a sunny blue sky day. I had planned to do a walk from the Palace of Fine Arts in the Marina District, but I missed the bus stop and the next one was over a stretch of highway and I ended up at the Golden Gate Plaza. Oh well! I was actually glad, because when I got there the bridge was enveloped in the typical San Francisco fog, but I could see that it was clearing, so I stuck around and took a series of photographs over the next 45 minutes, watching the bridge finally appear. It was beautiful to watch!

The Golden Gate Plaza has some new outdoor exhibits which I enjoyed looking at. Afterwards I walked down the steep winding path to the waterfront below and Fort Point, which is the large brick building at the foot of the bridge. The fort was built just before the US Civil war, in order to defend the San Francisco Bay from enemy warships. It was a fascinating place - only open Fri-Sun - so I'm glad I took the opportunity to visit today.

When I was finished there I had lunch at the nearby Warming Hut - an old military building, now a cafe and bookstore. By this time it was warm enough to eat outside which I did while enjoying a view of the bridge. A perfect outing before heading back to my hotel for a quick nap before flying back to London this evening. Loving my job today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.