The second half of life..

By twigs

Millipedes

The weather gods were very kind to us here in Nelson last night.  Huge parts of the country had been forecast to be battered by winds up to 150kms and massive amounts of rain.  It blew a bit ovrenight, and it rained, but it really wasn't too bad at all.  Parts of the rest of the country though have suffered enormously - floods, power cut off, flights cancelled, roads closed, slips on roads.  I feel fortunate that we escaped the monster's roar, but I also feel incredibly sad for those who have been hit hard.  Mother nature has her reasons and we may not understand her, but it does seem that she's wreaked a lot of havoc in the South Island lately.  

The day was cooler  than we've had recently which was very pleasant.  Only managed a very small amount of time in the garden, otherwise it was an indoorsy kind of a day.  It was when I was out that I spied what I thought was a caterpillar on the deck and decided it would be a good challenge to try to photograph him.  When I came back out with the camera and found him again I realised he wasn't a caterpillar at all - and 'he' was in fact 'they'.  Not quite sure that I want to know the details of their activity........legs everywhere!!

Terrible pictures because, despite their preoccupation, that many legs all working at once really can generate quite a bit of speed and it proved pretty hard to get a focus on them.  

Hmmmmm......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.