Gothla Photography on Display

I've been taking photos of Gothla Showcase regularly since 2012, since I was barred from backstage for being...well, since I was barred from backstage. I've certainly never been permitted to perform on stage since 2011! Diva times? Me, that is, not them.

Anyway, the photography has been an immense consolation and has enabled me to practice skills in capturing on stage movement. I've learned which settings will work in the low level lighting at a relatively fast shutter speed.

I'm extremely grateful to Colin, deputy churchwarden at St Botolph's Church in Shepshed, for facilitating a display of a selection of the photography taken since 2013. I hope the colour, movement and form of the performers will please the eye.

One or two people have raised eyebrows at this venture, but Colin has vetted the photos and he likes my assertion that belly dance as an activity contributes to the enabling of women creatively through movement and design whether that be makeup, body art, costuming, jewellery and story telling.

Colin has invited me to an event this evening which is intended to thank all those who have contributed to the church. He has advised me not to take notice of any disparaging remarks.

It feels fantastic to have my photos on display. You can also view the photo selection on Flickr.

Another dull, foggy day. The temperature seems to be dropping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.