Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Fake Out!

It was a bit of a rough day.  The first thing we had to do was attend a friend's funeral.  I've known Pat almost since I landed in Arizona. It was rather unexpected.  She was hospitalized a couple of weeks ago and was quickly  transferred to intensive care with breathing problems.  She fell into a coma and never woke up.  Pat was 69 years old.

Death comes frequently in our town.  You actually have to be at least 55 to buy a home. Most of my friends are 75 or older. It happens.
C'est la vie, c'est la mort. Le cercle de la vie.
 
I had a couple of hours between arriving home and when I needed to go out again. I ambled up and down my street and noticed a few curious choices for yard decorations.
 
There's this mountain lion (also commonly known as cougar, puma, panther, or catamount) and a skunk family, accompanied by an elephant (which puzzles me). I eventually ran across a cute live  critter.  You can see all crits smaller than a bread box (remember that phrase?) in the extras.

I think over the next few weeks I'll share views  from my Little Gorge Rd.  It's a quiet street chock full of people who would rather let ceramic animals sit around their yards than tend to the real ones (please excuse the sarcasm, it really was a long day).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.