Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Kokopelli

My primary care physician has not been able to solve the mystery of the edema in my legs and feet.

She treated me with antibiotics, correctly identifying the redness as a sign of infection in my ankles.

But the edema!

She walked into the examination room last Friday with a bold announcement.  She was going to try a kind of  "old-fashioned" cure!  A Unna boot. The best way to describe it is as 'medicinally' soaked gauze (and I use medicinal loosely) wrapped tightly from toes to knee, then covered even more tightly with Coban - that stretchy, sticky stuff that resembles Ace/elastic bandages.

I have tried sleeping in the bed but since I can't bend my ankle much that has been pointless. So I simply sit up in the recliner, nodding off for periods of time. It is what it is.

I go back to see her Wednesday evening. In the meantime I think I'll have some more of that tasty, low sodium, organic vegetable soup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.