Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Erm ......

This is what happens when you have a restless night and time on your hands. Based on a £1 plastic mask from an art shop. I've used one as the basis for a blip on several occasions, possibly when I was less disturbed and therefore possibly to greater effect but hey ho, this is my offering today. 

I suspect my sleep wasn't as bad as I think it was but you know what it's like, you wake up in the morning convinced that you spent the best part of the night mulling over a problem. My problem was what to feed guests in 2 weeks time when we entertain them in an attempt to decimate the 7kg leg of Serrano ham that Rosina brought me for Xmas. A ham based starter and main is a breeze but I guess i was struggling with the desert. Only kidding about the desert, I wouldn't feed ham and custard to my worst enemy.

Saw a post on Facebook yesterday asking people what they remember about their childhood that kids today just wouldn't comprehend. Got me thinking, so here are a few, feel free to add your own:

- One flavour of crisps, well two really as you had the choice to add or leave off the salt
- Borrowing a cup of sugar from the neighbours
- Mums all wearing head scarves and aprons around the house
- Borrowing a shilling from the neighbours for the gas meter
- 3 tv channels that weren't on 24*7
- The chip pan
- The test card
- The white dot when you switched the TV off
- The national anthem at the end of the evening (on the TV at the cinema and at the British Legion)
- Having to be over 14 to see a Carry On film at the cinema because you might glimpse a bit of Barbara Windsors side boob
- Calling all adults Auntie or uncle regardless of their relationship to you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.