All Steamed Up

So, on the 4th of Feb I am going to York in all my Steampunk finery. It will be the first time I've been out in costume and I'm a little trepidatious as well as being quite excited by it. Pat is coming along in her Steampunkary and we have almost persuaded Jude. 

Pat needs a hat and so Jude, Pat and I decided to have a mooch around the shops in Ramsbottom. There were plenty of hats, but no top hats so we had a cuppa in a cafe. 

I love, love, love the steam trains so I dragged them onto the platform just as the train steamed in. I almost walked into a pillar as the steam swamped me....a very near miss thankfully. It was freezing cold there and so as soon as the train snaked its way off down the tracks we raced to the car to thaw out. 

We had another cuppa back at Pat's and Tracey joined us. Tracey offered us both a lift home....Jude took her up on it, I decided to up my steps and walk. In fact I went the very long way....which happened to take me by Carole's. After all the tea I'd drunk I only just made it there without an accident. Another cuppa was out of the question....so we had a large glass of wine instead. 

I hadn't really eaten anything all day and as soon as I went outside into the cold air the wine...and a very fine wine it was too....hit me hard. It took longer to walk home than I intended as I zigged and zagged slightly. 

Last week LadyG made me watch The Voice....and now I'm hooked on the flippin' thing and watching it again....but Shhhhh don't tell her as I like to make out that I can't stand it hee hee. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.