Firefighter Fun

Oh blimey, what a day....

I was up early preparing breakfast for Sue and Suzanne, as they arrived Suzanne realised she should be in base as she was a driver...doh! I made her up a breakfast barm and she shot off. Sue and I had a much more leisurely brekkie before we set off for Eccles Fire Station.

We had heaters and the firefighters had their heaters on, but still we couldn't get the temperature up. It has to be at least sixteen degrees otherwise the the blood can clot in the tubes and we lose donations. Donors sat and waited, we gave them hot drinks and then we watched the thermometer.....

It took fifty minutes, and it was still bloody cold, but we started. The firefighters were brilliant as they tried everything they could to help...even going out to get more heaters, but it was so cold. It even started snowing. It was obvious that we were never going to get the temperature up any more and so the powers that be decided that we would finish the morning session and the we would have to cancel the afternoon. 

The added heaters caused the electrics to trip out and the computer went off. This is a nightmare as it takes forever to shut down, then it takes even more forever to start up again. Some heaters had to be turned off....could things get any worse.........

Well, yes they could! I had asked the firefighters if I could go up their ladders on a snorkel....they don't have one at that station :( "We are going to cut up a car later though," well that sounded good for a photo. The weather was so bad that they abandoned that...damn. Oh well there were still two appliances we could get on them.....oh no we couldn't :( The men had to go out and fit some smoke alarms and so the engines disappeared. (Mind you, on the plus side I've arranged for them to come to my house and fit one too). "What about a pic on a pole?" I asked...they don't have one at that station :(((  

"I need a good photo," I moaned.....a very nice firefighter came to my rescue....and made Sabine's wish come true....he said that they could dress up in all the gear. Well, it was hilarious, especially when Suzanne put the exceedingly heavy breathing apparatus on too. 

Oh, I nearly forgot....it is National Hug Day today. I had to tell a firefighter and received a bear hug in response. "Have you no shame?" Lynn said....errr, nope!

Sue and Suzanne came back to mine as we had our unexpected early finish and we sat an drank tea and laughed about the day's antics. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.