WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Azulejos y agua

Water and tiles -- a very common combination in Andalucia. We'd already decided to have a quiet day today -- that was before I was suddenly struck down by stomach cramps last night. I couldn't help blaming the mussels we had for dinner, even though S was fine. I tossed and turned half the night, so felt justified in a very long lie-in this morning, eventually surfacing at about half past ten. I broke my fast with scrambled eggs on toast for lunch, and then we went for a potter around Vélez, mainly to go to the castle (which will be blipped at some point). I took this photo on the way up through the oldest part of town. See also the extra -- a very typical village street around here.

Later we went into Motríl on a hunt for free-range eggs; I can't bring myself to buy battery ones, and that's generally all you can get in rural Spain. The supermarket was inconveniently large for country bumpkins like us, but we stocked up on vital stuff like wine ... we won't be needing any more of that for a while. 

Later still, back in Vélez, we did some overdue tapas research, hitting one of the local bars for a glass of wine and the inevitable free tapa (bacon sandwich) while the chicken curry was cooking. We're gradually settling in ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.