A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Haworth history

I was at the Beauticians this morning in Haworth for a lovely relaxing facial.
It is in Belle Isle, an historic part of Haworth just across the railway lines. I think the colourful Dog Woods caught my eye but I had never noticed this sign before just next to the drive, maybe because the foliage hide the letters more in Spring and Summer.
As you can see it says Haworth Urban District Council and the date 1907. I looked it up and the old buildings here were the seat of the council after it took over from the Haworth Board of Health in 1895. Pictures here: http://www.haworth-village.org.uk/history/places/haworth-urban/haworth-urban.asp

The buildings were pulled down in 2004 and a new row of houses built. This is the parking area and garden for those houses. Good that they have preserved these I think. There is also an old cinema down here that they have converted into apartments.

There have been lots of birds at the feeders today especially in the front garden. I had wanted to use a bird blip but they are much harder to get from the front window. There is a Bullfinch that we have been seeing for a while and a Siskin but there have been two Robins, Gold and Green finches, a Wren, Blackbird and a Thrush as well as the usual Bluetits and Sparrows. I enjoy watching them. Unfortunately I can't do the RSPB Big Bird Watch this weekend as we are away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.