Winter Frost Flowers…

“A frost flower is formed when thin layers of ice are extruded from long-stemmed plants in autumn or early winter. The thin layers of ice are often formed into exquisite patterns that curl into "petals" that resemble flowers." Wikipedia

Despite a forecast of freezing fog, I woke up to clear blue skies and a hard frost this morning. If it hadn’t been for Houseonahill6’s blip, I would have ignored these strange white apparitions in the garden, but on closer inspection I discovered these amazing little frost flowers. I’ve tried my best to capture the tiny icy details, but given that I was in my pjs and it was -3°C, they weren’t the easiest things to photograph!

And talking of things cold and icy, British slalom skier Dave Ryding is in action this evening (you can see him on the red button at 7.45pm), he’s currently ranked 5th in the world in slalom skiing! Not bad for a country that’s not renowned for its ski resorts!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.