The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Our new street lights

Bright as the new moon
Energy saving
Lights for the masses!

Much more aesthetically pleasing than the orange ones.

Reading Georgy Girl and watching the film in today's class. Wow, it made me so annoyed when I finished reading the book last Saturday. I wanted to go back to the 1960s to change the range of options available to women. My own mother spent the greater part of her 1960s being pregnant and raising children. Five were born to her between 1961 and 1969. She was hardly going to run away and join the circus! Later, she threatened to leave us and go and clean offices in Manchester. She compromised by taking up smoking instead.

The tutor could not offer me an alternative feminist reading list, so I concluded that I'd have to wait for the 1970s and the new dawn..

Some of the women in our course were Mods. I was a Mod revivalist in 1980. It's all history now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.